MICCAI Enduring Impact Award (EIA)

Description and Guidelines


The Enduring Impact Award Prize is the MICCAI Society’s prestigious annual prize which was founded in 2009. It is awarded to a senior researcher whose work has made an enduring impact on the field of medical image computing and computer assisted interventions.


Winners will have made a substantial and enduring contribution to the field through many or all of the criteria below. While the award winner has usually been a senior member of the MICCAI community, the Society welcomes nominations of other prestigious researchers.


  • Opened up a new area of research
  • Provided a solution to an unsolved problem and/or significant research question

Successful Clinical Applications

    • Produced a working system or practical implementation with high clinical relevance

Publications and dissemination of research

  • Published prestigious papers that have attracted a significant number of citations by others
  • Shown evidence of continuing citations of papers, and/or use of systems in clinical practice and clinical training

Conferences, Societies and Journals

  • Organisation and support for MICCAI and other Conferences and Societies
  • Journal Editorships


  • Exceptional contribution, through supervision and support for young researchers and other broader educational achievements


2023  Guido Gerig, NYU Tandon, USA
2022  Jocelyne Troccaz, CNRS, Grenoble University, France
 Nassir Navab,Technical University of Munich, Germany
  Karl Heinz Hoehne, University of Hamburg, Germany
2019  Alison Noble, Oxford University, UK
2018  Sandy Wells, Brigham & Women’s Hospital and Harvard Medical School, USA
2017  Jim Duncan, Yale University, New Haven, USA
2016  Dave Hawkes, University College, London, UK
2015  Max Viergever, University Medical Centre, Utrecht, Netherlands
2014  Terry Peters, Western University, Ontario, Canada
2013  Nicholas Ayache, INRIA Sophia Antipolis, Nice, Francea
2012  Jerry Prince, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, USA
2011  Chris Taylor, University of Manchester, UK
2010  Russ Taylor, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, USA
2009  Ron Kikinis, Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard Medical School, USA



A nomination is a document that makes the case for a particular candidate and is prepared confidentially by one or a small number of MICCAI Society Fellows, Board Members or previous Award winners (“eligible Award Nominators”). MICCAI Society members cannot directly nominate candidates but can approach an eligible Award Nominator confidentially to suggest a nominee; and the person approached will advise whether they feel the nomination looks strong enough to put forward and whether they are happy to champion the nomination. The number of contributors to the nomination is not relevant during the assessment. The candidate must have no input into or knowledge of the nomination at any stage. The prepared document is sent confidentially to the Co-Chairs of the Selection Committee - Jim Duncan (james.duncan@yale.edu) and Alison Noble (alison.noble@eng.ox.ac.uk).

An unsuccessful nomination can be updated and resubmitted by the nominators the  following year; however, unless agreed with the Chair of the Selection Committee, the nominators can only submit the nomination on a total of three occasions.

Nominations are open from January 1st and the nomination deadline is May 1st each year.

The nominations are carefully evaluated by a small Award Committee drawn from the Board, Fellows and previous winners, chosen to represent the range of scientific interests and backgrounds, and to avoid possible conflicts of interest. Award Committee members cannot make nominations. 
The selection process is confidential and no feedback is made to candidates or nominators. The names of Award Committee members are published annually during the official announcement of the award.

The award is announced and presented at the annual MICCAI Conference.

Queries should be directed to the Selection Committee Chair(s), currently Alison Noble and Jim Duncan 
(alison.noble@eng.ox.ac.uk, james.duncan@yale.edu), or to the MICCAI Society Award Coordinator.