2019 MICCAI Fellows



MICCAI Fellowship is bestowed upon members of the community, as identified by their peers, in recognition of their exceptional contributions to Medical Image Computing and/or Computer-assisted Interventions, as well as to their contributions to the MICCAI society as a whole. The 2019 MICCAI Society Fellows election process consisted of Fellows nominating and then voting for candidates with the top 3 candidates with most votes recommended for election. The recommendations of the Fellows were then ratified by the MICCAI Society Board (Board members with any conflict of interest did not vote). The Fellows Elections officer for 2019 was Terry Peters (Robarts Research Institute, Canada).


List of New Fellows 2019

Stephen Aylward
 (Kitware, USA), 2019

For his work in promoting open source software, his outstanding service to the MICCAI community and his contributions to the field of medical image analysis.

Hervé Delingette
 (INRIA Sophia-Antipolis, France), 2019

For pioneering contributions in deformable models for medical image analysis, computational physiology, real-time surgery simulation and applications to computer assisted interventions.


Lena Maier-Hein (DKFZ, Germany), 2019

For exceptional contributions in computer assisted interventions, multimodal endoscopy, Surgical Data Science.