2020 MICCAI Fellows



MICCAI Fellowship is bestowed upon members of the community, as identified by their peers, in recognition of their exceptional contributions to Medical Image Computing and/or Computer-assisted Interventions, as well as to their contributions to the MICCAI society as a whole. The 2020 MICCAI Society Fellows election process consisted of Fellows nominating and then voting for candidates with the top 3 candidates with most votes recommended for election. The recommendations of the Fellows were then ratified by the MICCAI Society Board (Board members with any conflict of interest did not vote). The Fellows Elections officer for 2020 was Terry Peters (Robarts Research Institute, Canada).

List of New Fellows 2020

Purang Abolmaesumi (University of British Columbia, Canada), 2020

For contributions to ultrasound segmentation, ultrasound time-series analysis and multimodal image registration


Nobuhiko Hata (Harvard University, USA), 2020

For significant impact on the field of computer aided interventions.


Dingang Shen (ShanghaiTech University, China), 2020

For significant contribution to development of novel image analysis algorithms and tools